Past   Standards

Since its inauguration, ARM’s mission has been the development of standards for responsible artisanal and small-scale mining (ASM).

From 2005 to 2008, we led a process with an extensive network of allies in Latin America to develop a collective vision and establish fair and responsible values for ASM. These provided the basis on which ARM developed the Standard Zero for Fair Gold, Silver and Platinum Associates, and later the Fairtrade and Fairmined Standard for gold, including associated precious metals. In 2013, the standards and the seals were made independent from each other, and our work with the Fairmined Standard and the Fairmined Certification System was conducted independently.

Fairtrade and Fairmined  Standard

Between 2006 and 2013, ARM and Fairtrade International worked together to develop the Fairtrade and Fairmined Standard to create market access for gold products that contribute to the social, environmental and economic development of artisanal and small-scale mining communities.

Available in:

Previous versions of the Fairmined Standard

(V2.0 RC ARM / January 1st of 2014)

Available in:


Standard Zero 

The Standard Zero was the world’s first certification scheme for responsible artisanal and small-scale gold mining. The Standard Zero underwent extensive public consultation and its first version was approved by ARM in 2007 and was tested in Latin America between 2008 and 2010. It included a set of principles of fair-trade mining practices for small producers, but are adapted to the situation of artisanal and small scale mining.

(2007-original version)

Available in:

Share This